Seven named to All-Independent teams; Carrillo Coach of the Year

Cody Mansfield
Cody Mansfield

ORANGE, Calif. - On the heels of a season in which the Chapman University men's soccer team made its first NCAA playoff appearance in 10 years, seven players have been named to the All-Independent teams while head coach Eddie Carrillo earned Coach of the Year.

With one of the top defenses in Division III, the Panthers went 11-5-2 in 2009 and held its opponents scoreless on eight occasions while posting a goals-against average of 0.57. Of the seven Chapman players selected to the All-Independent teams, three are defensive players. Senior Matt O'Leary and sophomore Cody Mansfield have been selected to the first team while junior GK Tyler Hadzinsky earned second-team honors. Hadzinsky started 15 games, posting a goals-against average of 0.68 with 61 saves and five shutouts.

Selected to the All-Independents second team are seniors Matt Prouty, Jeff Shah and Alex Sewitz along with freshman F Mauricio Alfonso. Prouty finished the season with a team-high seven goals including three game-winners. Sewitz started all 18 games and finished second on the team with 15 points, tallying five goals and five assists. Shah finished the season with three goals and three assists while Alfonso chipped in one goal and two assists.

This is the third-consecutive season that O'Leary and Shah have been named to the All-Independent teams and second-straight year for Hadzinsky. 2009 marks the first year that the Panthers have placed seven players on the All-Independent teams with the previous high being five players in 2008.

For Carrillo who is Chapman's all-time leader in wins with over 100, this is his first Association of Division III Independents Coach of the Year Award. Carrillo has led the Panthers to four NCAA playoff appearances in his 14 seasons and eight seasons with a .500 record or better.